Bad Company releasing expanded reissues of “Run with the Pack” and “Burnin' Sky” in May

RhinoAfter releasing expanded and remastered editions of its first two albums in 2015, Bad Company is now set to do the same with its third and fourth studio efforts — 1976’s Run with the Pack and 1977’s Burnin’ Sky. Double-disc versions of both albums, each featuring a variety of previously unreleased tracks, will be issued on CD and vinyl on May 26.

Among the bonus tracks included on the deluxe Run with the Pack and Burnin’ Sky collections are alternate takes, early mixes, extended versions and studio jams from the respective recording sessions.  The CD versions of both reissues feature a few more extra tracks than the vinyl LP editions do.

Run with the Pack was originally released in January 1976 and peaked at #5 on the Billboard 200. The album included a cover of the 1957 Coasters hit “Young Blood” that reached #20 on the Billboard Hot 100. It has gone on to sell more than 3 million copies in the U.S. The reissue’s bonus disc includes two alternate versions of “Young Blood” and a studio jam on the 1967 Temptations classic “(I Know) I’m Losing You.”

Burnin’ Sky arrived in stores in March 1977, and reached #15 on the Billboard 200. Although it yielded no major hit singles, it achieved gold status for sales of more than 500,000 copies in the U.S. Among the tracks appearing on the reissue’s bonus disc is a previously unreleased song called “Unfinished Story,” and early versions of “Too Bad” and “Man Needs Woman” with guitarist Mick Ralphs handling lead vocals instead of frontman Paul Rodgers.

Here are the full track lists of the two-CD deluxe versions of Run with the Pack and Burnin’ Sky:

Run with the Pack:

Disc One — Original Album Remastered
“Live for the Music”
“Simple Man”
“Honey Child”
“Love Me Somebody”
“Run with the Pack”
“Silver, Blue & Gold”
“Young Blood”
“Do Right by Your Women”
“Sweet Lil’ Sister”
“Fade Away”

Disc Two — Bonus Tracks*
“Live for the Music” — Take 1, Alternative Vocal & Guitar
“Simple Man” — Take 3, Early Mix
“Honey Child” — Early Mix, Alternative Guitar Solo
“Run with the Pack” — Extended Version, Alternative Vocal
“Let There Be Love” — Take 1, Previously Unreleased
“Silver, Blue & Gold” — Take 1, Early Mix
“Young Blood” — Alternative Vocal
“Do Right by Your Woman” — Alternative Vocal
“Sweet Lil’ Sister” — Live Backing Track
“Fade Away” — Early Mix, Alternative Guitar Solo
“Do Right by Your Woman” — Acoustic Version*
“(I Know) I’m Losing You” — Studio Jam
“Young Blood” — Alternative Version 2
“Fade Away” — Island Studios Demo

Burnin’ Sky:

Disc One — Original Album Remastered
“Burnin’ Sky”
“Morning Sun”
“Leaving You”
“Like Water”
“Knapsack (The Happy Wanderer)”
“Everything I Need”
“Peace of Mind”
“Passing Time”
“Too Bad”
“Man Needs Woman”
“Master of Ceremony”

Disc Two — Bonus Tracks**
“Burnin’ Sky” — Take 2, Alternative Vocal & Guitar
“Morning Sun” — Take 3, Early Version
“Leaving You” — Take 1, Alternative Vocal
“Like Water” — Take 1, Rough Mix
“Knapsack (The Happy Wanderer)” — Early Run Through
“Everything I Need” — Rough Mix
“Peace of Mind” — Alternative Version
“Passing Time” — Alternative Vocal
“Too Bad” — Full Version
“Man Needs Woman” — Alternative Vocal & Guitar
“Too Bad” — Early Version, Mick Ralphs Vocal
“Man Needs Woman” — Take 2, Early Version, Mick Ralphs Vocal
“Burnin’ Sky” — Take 1, Alternative Vocal
“Unfinished Story” — Previously Unreleased

* = All bonus tracks previously unreleased except for acoustic version of “Do Right by Your Woman”
** = All bonus tracks previously unreleased.

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.