Silverchair/Empire of the Sun project Dreams releases new song, “Silence”

Credit: Jon ShoerDreams, the duo made up of Silverchair‘s Daniel Johns and Empire of the Sun‘s Luke Steele, has released a new song called “Silence.” The track is now streaming, along with a neon-colored visual, on YouTube.

“‘Silence’ is a song which came to us after the Charlottesville riots,” says Steele in a statement. “It broke our hearts to see the violence and hatred that occurred. We wanted this song to elevate the people, let their voices be heard, inspire them with courage and bravery.”

“Silence” is the second song Dreams has released, following the debut single “No One Defeats Us.” Like its predecessor, “Silence” leans closer to the sound of Empire of the Sun than it does to the post-grunge stylings of Silverchair.

Dreams will make their live debut Friday night at Coachella. The set starts at 8:40 p.m. PT, and will stream live online via the Coachella YouTube page.

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.