Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins already dropping songs for Birds of Satan

We told you about Foo Fighers drummer Taylor Hawkins unveiling a new band called "Birds of Satan" last week. Well, the band is already dropping songs from their debut album, starting with "Thanks for the Line."

The track is a driving rocker led by Mick Murphy’s chunky guitar and a heavy percussive foundation courtesy of Hawkins. The drummer also handles lead vocals on the infectious track.

The band, which also includes bassist Wiley Hodgden, will issue their self-titled album April 15. The trio also reached out to Hawkins’ Foo Fighters bandmates Dave Grohl, Pat Smear, touring keyboardist Rami Jaffe and percussionist Drew Hester for guest turns on the album.

Though ‘Thanks for the Line’ is the first taste of new music from the band, a press release states that the group also boasts songs that flow through prog rock, ballad and hard rock veins. Despite Hawkins’ work for the Birds of Satan, the drummer is expected to return to Foo Fighters when they start promotion for their new album later this year.